Magyar Magyar

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Hungary

HollókőEger region

Featuring the Taj Mahal and the Grand Canyon, the UNESCO World Heritage list divides sites into those of outstanding cultural and those of outstanding natural value.



The UNESCO World Heritage Programme in brief

UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation) World Heritage Programme was established in 1972. The aim of the programme is to register the cultural and natural heritage of humanity – so the countries that are placed on this list must make a commitment to protecting the World Heritage sites in their territory so that later generations can enjoy their unparalleled beauty. Needless to say, being included on the World Heritage List is immensely prestigious – places such as the Grand Canyon National Park, the historic centre of Florence, Machu Picchu and the Great Wall of China are all listed.

Most of them sits in the cultural category. Budapest counts as one, with three specific attractions: the Danube panorama, the Castle District and Andrássy Avenue.


The first refers to both banks, the bridges linking them and the landmarks along them. Certain attractions are cited by name, including the magnificent Neo-Gothic Parliament and Art Nouveau masterpiece, the Gresham Palace, defining the skyline of Pest, and dramatic hilltop Citadella in Buda.


A seat of power since the 1200s, Castle District exudes history, the sprawling former royal palace now housing the Hungarian National Gallery. Nearby, Matthias Church and Fishermen’s Bastion were painstakingly created by architect Frigyes Schulek in the late 1800s, the former from medieval plans. Andrássy Avenue is more broadly defined to bring in the Great Synagogue, with the ornate Opera House and magnificently restored Franz Liszt Academy of Music among the landmarks.


In western Hungary, Pannonhalma Abbey, founded in 996, still functions as a centre of church and art history, with an arboretum and herb garden, cloisters, an archabbey museum, a gallery and chapel.


In north-east Hungary, designated as a wine region since 1737, Tokaj’s storied viticulture is another heritage site, 3,000 cellars stretched across an area of eight settlements including Mád and Tokaj itself.


The nearby Hortobágy National Park shows how man and nature can interact in harmony, animal husbandry adapted to the saline pastures and wetlands. In spring and autumn, this habitat attracts breeding and migrating birdlife. Hortobágy is also symbolised by the Nine-hole Bridge and wildlife park.


Closer to Budapest, Hollókő Ófalu refers to the Old Village, the medieval castle ruins above and the surrounding greenery. This complex of folk architecture comprises 55 buildings and a church.


The Fertő Lake area features a unique landscape of vineyards and diverse wildlife, geologically and historically uniform either side of the Austrian border that now divides it.


Roman Sopianae is today Pécs in southern Hungary, where an Early Christian Necropolis from the fourth century is part of the Cella Septichora Visitor Centre, a popular tourist attraction.


The 1,200 caverns of Aggtelek straddling the Slovak border include the 26-kilometre Baradla-Domica cave system and Rákóczi Cave No.1, used in the treatment of respiratory illnesses.

WONDERS OF HUNGARY: PANNONHALMA ARCHABBEYWe have launched a mini-series entitled Wonders of Hungary, occasionally presenting our country's beautiful treasures in about a minute to inspire you. Welcome to part 12, in which we show you the stunning Archabbey in Pannonhalma.
Wonders of Hungary: Pannonhalma Archabbey
Wonders of Hungary: Baradla Cave, Aggtelek
Wonders of Hungary - Hortobágy National Park - "The Puszta"
Wonders of Hungary: Hercegkút and its cellars

You May Also Like